Wednesday, April 15, 2009

New Release - The Mick FleetWood Blues Band - Blue Again

Blue Again
Blue Again [LIVE] by Mick Fleetwood
I think that it is so cool that Mick Fleetwood has come back to the blues. I say welcome home.

According to notes at;

Revisiting the blues and the blues-oriented classic songs of Fleetwood Mac, iconic rock drummer and band co-founder Mick Fleetwood has assembled a hand-picked quartet of musicians, The Mick Fleetwood Blues Band, who've created this stunning new live recording. Equal parts blues rave-up and loving homage to the early incarnation of Fleetwood Mac, BLUE AGAIN is a showcase for Fleetwood, who has teamed up on this recording with guitarist and lead vocalist Rick Vito, bassist Lenny Castellanos and keyboardist Mark Johnstone. This powerhouse blues project features versions of early Peter Green-penned hits such as 'Black Magic Woman,' 'Albatross' and 'Rattlesnake Shake' as well as original material composed by Rick Vito (with a rollicking version of Elmore James' 'Shake Your Moneymaker' included for good measure).

Produced by Mick Fleetwood and Rick Vito, BLUE AGAIN was recorded live at the Sheldon Concert Hall in St. Louis, Missouri in February of 2008. The immaculate recording gives the songs a vibrant, modern immediacy which transcends easy nostalgia. Says Mick in the liner notes: 'Over my career I've been called a pop star and a rock star, yet in my inner heart, I will always be part bluesman. On my journey from blues to a life of rock n roll, I've always remembered where I started.' BLUE AGAIN is both an original musical tour de force and a respectful tribute to Fleetwood Mac (in the midst of celebrating their 40th Anniversary), initiated by the sole member of the band to be in every incarnation from the beginning.

track Listing Click image above to listen to mp3 samples

1. Red Hot Gal
2. Looking For Somebody
3. Fleetwood Boogie
4. Stop Messin Around
5. Rattlesnake Shake
6. When We Do The Lucky Devil
7. Love That Burns
8. Bayou Queen
9. Black Magic Woman
10. I Got A Hole In My Shoe
11. Shake Your Moneymaker
12. Albatross

Stumble Upon Toolbar
Post a Comment