Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Gris-Gris - Dr John 1968 & 2003


Gris-Gris is the debut album by Dr. John (Mac Rebennack). Produced by Harold Battiste, it was released on Atco Records in 1968. The musical style of Gris-Gris is a hybrid of New Orleans rhythm and blues and psychedelic rock. Despite the New Orleans style, it was recorded in California with several native New Orleans musicians.
Gris-Gris failed to chart in the United Kingdom and the United States. It was re-issued on compact disc decades later and received much greater praise from modern critics, including being listed at #143 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

1. "Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya" (Dr.John Creaux) 5:36
2. "Danse Kalinda Ba Doom" (Creaux, Harold Battiste) 3:39
3. "Mama Roux" (Creaux, Jessie Hill) 2:59
4. "Danse Fambeaux" (Creaux) 4:56
5. "Croker Courtbullion" (Battiste) 6:00
6. "Jump Sturdy" (Creaux) 2:20
7. "I Walk On Guilded Splinters" (Creaux)

An excellent cover

Stumble Upon Toolbar
Post a Comment