Monday, December 06, 2010

Blue Alert - Anjani
Read the full review

Honolulu-born singer-songwriter Anjani's story is the stuff of great fiction. After playing the New York jazz club circuit for years, she was introduced to celebrated Canadian poet, author, and songwriter Leonard Cohen. Immediately drawn to her talents, he brought her onboard as a keyboardist and vocalist, where she provided some background work on a number of his CDs. After finding a few lines of Cohen's handwritten lyrics lying on his desk one day (specifically "there's perfume burning in the air/bits of beauty everywhere"),..... Fans of the legendary Canadian writer will likely be charmed by these minimalist numbers, and enjoy this new extension of his artistic reach. --Denise Sheppard

  1. "Blue Alert" – 5:39
  2. "Innermost Door" – 3:16
  3. "The Golden Gate" – 3:08
  4. "Half the Perfect World" – 4:06
  5. "Nightingale" – 3:00
  6. "No One After You" – 4:09
  7. "Never Got to Love You" – 4:36
  8. "The Mist" – 3:08
  9. "Crazy to Love You" – 4:51
  10. "Thanks for the Dance" – 4:38
All songs written by Anjani Thomas (music) and Leonard Cohen (lyrics). The album was released in Canada on May 2, in USA on May 19, and in Europe on June 5, 2006, by Columbia Records. It debuted at #16 of Billboard's Top 200 Jazz Albums.

Stumble Upon Toolbar
Post a Comment